Penalties and Late Registration Fees
Late Payment Penalty
Severe penalties occur for failure to pay student account balances and installments by the specified due dates. If a payment is delinquent when a semester ends, the student will be blocked and may not receive credit for academic work performed. A student will not be readmitted to the University until all past due balances, including late charges, are paid. A late fee of $25 for Texas A&M students and $50 for HSC students will be assessed for each payment not received before it is due. If a student is removed from the rolls of the University or is withdrawn for failure to pay amounts owed the University, a reinstatement fee of $50 for Texas A&M students and $150 for HSC students will be assessed in addition to any other late fees or penalties already incurred and must be paid before the student will be reinstated.
Late Registration Fees
A student who registers on or after the first day of classes is assessed a late registration fee of $100 for Texas A&M students and $200 for HSC students. A student who registers after the official census date (12th class day for fall or spring and 4th class day for summer) is assessed a late registration fee of $200 for Texas A&M students and $250 for HSC students. A student who adds classes after the official census date is assessed a late add fee of $50 for Texas A&M students and $100 for HSC students. Note: Penalties, late registration and late add fees also apply to a student who is required to re-enroll because his/her registration was canceled for nonpayment.
Use of Collection Agencies and Credit Bureau
If amounts become past due, the University reserves the right to report the account to the Credit Bureau. This will also initiate internal collection efforts and could cause the University to employ an outside collection agency to recover the debt. If any collection efforts must be made, the student will be required to reimburse the University the fees of any collection agency, which may be based on a percentage at a maximum of 30% of the debt, and all costs and expenses, including reasonable attorney’s fees the University incurs in such collection efforts if the student account becomes delinquent.