Master of Architecture in Architecture

The Architecture program at Texas A&M University follows a 4+2 structure with an undergraduate foundation of a pre-professional Bachelor of Science degree and a Master of Architecture (MArch) first professional degree awarded at the graduate level. The Master of Architecture degree is accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board, fulfilling the educational component of professional licensure as an Architect. The Texas A&M University Department of Architecture MArch received an eight-year accreditation in 2023.

The Master of Architecture (MArch) program provides graduates with the requisite educational background to enter the professional practice of architecture and its numerous variants. The Master of Architecture (MArch) program lets students explore a range of professional directions related to faculty expertise. Faculty encourage students to develop their own individual course of study, which blends the emphasis areas of the following:

  • Architectural Design
  • History, Theory, and Criticism
  • Design Computation
  • Interior Architecture

Students can also direct their studies within existing certificate programs in the following:

  • Facility Asset Management
  • Health Systems and Design
  • Historic Preservation
  • Sustainable Urbanism

These certificate programs, offered through the five research centers, institutes, and labs at the college level, provide students with access to resources at the college and University that support diverse interests and engaged activity alongside opportunities for interdisciplinary experiences in tangential areas, including engineering, business, management, and leadership. Studying at Texas A&M offers motivated and tenacious students the unique opportunity to engage with the discipline and profession of Architecture at an impactful level through the diverse faculty comprising both breadth and depth of expertise.