Tuition, Fees and Other Financial Information
Educational expenses for nine months will vary according to personal needs and course of study. The Financial Aid Office’s basic budget for new undergraduate students including tuition and fees, books, supplies, transportation, on-campus room and board, incidental and living expenses come to about $30,024. Total expenses for returning students during an academic year should be slightly less than those for new students. The costs for new nonresident or international students is about $58,550. All tuition and fees amounts provided herein represent the most accurate figures available at the time of publication and are subject to change without notice. University Rules in place at the time of publishing are reflected here. All are subject to change. The most current information available will be maintained on the Scholarship & Financial Aid website. Student Business Services online tuition and fee estimate calculator can be found at the Student Business Services website.
Payment of Tuition and Fees
Students must meet all financial obligations to the University by their due dates to avoid late penalties. Failure to pay amounts owed may result in cancellation of the student’s registration, barring from future enrollment and non-issuance of official transcripts. State law requires that tuition and fees be paid prior to the first day of classes. Students who wish to pay fees in installments can select the option on the My Finances tab on the Howdy Portal.
By registering for classes, students agree to pay all tuition and required fees associated with their registration, optional services and other fees, whether paying in full or utilizing the installment payment option. Failure to pay tuition, fees and other charges may result in penalties, late registration fees and/or possible cancellation.
Student Account Deferment Option for Recipients of Military Education Benefits
In accordance with 38 U.S. Code § 3679 (e), Texas A&M University will not impose any penalty, including - the assessment of late fees - the denial of access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities - the requirement that a student receiving military education benefits borrow additional funds because of the student’s inability to meet financial obligations to the University on time as the result of the delayed disbursement of a state or federal military-related student financial assistance program covering tuition and fees.
Eligible students may request deferment for payment of tuition and fees if the military-related financial assistance is delayed. Requests for deferment should be requested prior to the first bill due date. Deferment will be permitted for up to 60 days from the first day of the semester. Should late fee penalties be inadvertently assessed, eligible students may seek assistance from the Aggie One Stop or Scholarships & Financial Aid to request reversal of fees. These offices will in turn collaborate with Student Business Services to manage the student account until receipt of the benefit payment.
According to Texas A&M University Student Rules and Chapter § 54.007 (c) of the Texas Education Code, all financial obligations to the University must be paid by the end of the semester. Failure to settle all financial obligations will result in withholding a student’s diploma at graduation. Additionally, a block will be placed on the student’s account which will prohibit registration in subsequent semesters and receipt of official transcripts.
- Section 14.15 of the Texas A&M University Student Rules states “The student must have settled all financial obligations to the University.”
- Chapter § 54.007 (c) of the Texas Education Code states “A student who fails to make payment prior to the end of the semester may be denied credit for the work done that semester.”
- Texas A&M Tuition and Required Fees per Semester Credit Hour
- Nonresident Tuition Waiver
- University Advancement Fee
- CEHD Teacher Preparation Program
- Distance Education Administration Fee
- Distance Education Differential Tuition
- TAMUHSC Tuition and Required Fees
- TAMUHSC Fees
- Locked and Variable Rate Tuition Plans
Texas A&M Tuition and Required Fees per Semester Credit Hour
A tuition calculator is provided on the Student Business Services (SBS) website to assist students in estimating their tuition and fee costs based on enrolled semester credit hours. Tuition and fee explanations can also be found at sbs.tamu.edu.
All rates are the most current available at the time of printing and are subject to change.
Nonresident Tuition Waiver
If you have any questions concerning your eligibility for a waiver of nonresident tuition, please visit our website or contact Student Business Services by email at .
University Advancement Fee
The University Advancement Fee is a required fee charged to all Texas A&M University students. The University Advancement Fee funds services such as advising, the Career Center, University Writing Center, technology and libraries as well as administrative services such as ID services, the campus bus system, billing and refunds, access for students to discounted software and many of the services provided through the Division of Student Affairs.
CEHD Teacher Preparation Program
Undergraduate students enrolled in the professional phase of teacher preparation programs incur a differential tuition charge of $300 in each of the remaining fall and spring semesters. This differential tuition helps support field experiences, supervision, scholarships and international/urban experiences in culturally diverse settings.
Distance Education Administration Fee
This $30 per semester credit hour administrative fee is assessed to Non-Funded Out-of-State students taking distance education courses.
Distance Education Differential Tuition
The rate to be charged for distance education courses will range from a minimum of $40/SCH to a maximum of $550/SCH. Each academic department will have an individual rate that will be approved annually by the President of Texas A&M University. For more information regarding Distance Education Differential Tuition, please visit https://sbs.tamu.edu/billing-payments/billing-fee-explanations/index.html.
TAMUHSC Tuition and Required Fees
Texas A&M University Health Science Center tuition and fees are approved by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents within guidelines established by the Texas Legislature. Fees are subject to change by the Board of Regents.
A tuition calculator is provided on the SBS website to assist students in estimating their tuition and fee costs based on enrolled semester credit hours. Tuition and fee explanations can also be found at sbs.tamu.edu.
Distance Education Administration Fee
This $30.00 per semester credit hour administrative fee is assessed to Non-Funded Out-of-State students taking distance education courses.
Field Trip Fees
Field trip fees are assessed to cover the cost of providing trips and vary depending on the course taken and expected expenses.
Group Hospital Fee
The group hospital fee supports the provision of medical services to students to access services at the academic locale.
Instructional Enhancement/ Equipment Fee
The Texas A&M University Health Science Center charges an Instructional Enhancement Fee (IEF) at each of the colleges offering TAMUHSC academic programs. The colleges have varying fee rates based on the IEF needs of the college. This fee supports an array of educational activity enhancing academic programs at the college. A few examples of enhancement expenditures are; software to enhance education, media, web-based instruction, tracking and evaluation tools, licensure fees, and integration of technology.
Publication ASDA/ADHA Fee
This fee provides for students to receive a monthly publication, annual membership into the ASDA, ADA, or ADHA, and many leadership opportunities depending on the student’s academic program.
ID card (1-time flat rate)
This additional ID fee covers the College of Dentistry badge, which also serves an access card to secure locations of the dental school in addition to being an identification card.
Matriculation Fee (1-time flat rate)
This is a setup fee for first-year dental students related to a college-specific file set up with the college.
Drug Testing Fee (1-time flat rate)
All dental students pay this fee to cover drug testing for students, and this is a one-time assessment.
The University is required to assess and collect a laboratory fee not less than $2 nor more than $30.00 for each laboratory course to cover in general the cost of laboratory materials and supplies used by a student.
Medical Liability Insurance is required by students interacting and treating patients. This fee covers medical malpractice required for this type of activity.
This fee supports costs associated with instruments used during dental education.
Summer Clinic Fee (D3 and D4 only)
The Summer Clinic Fee is used to partly cover the cost of students working in the clinic. This fee is a flat fee and is not charged by the hour. The students are scheduling and working on patients as part of their clinical training.
Clinical Simulation Fee
The fee covers costs associated with Clinical Learning Resources Center to include specialized simulation technology, equipment, materials and supplies related to the operating of the simulation center.
Gross Anatomy Fee (M1 Only)
This fee covers costs associated with Gross Anatomy lab to include lab materials, supplies, furnishings, software and equipment specific to gross anatomy
Professional Liability Fee
Professional liability insurance coverage is required of all students who will be in clinical settings providing patient care. It is a mandatory requirement of all local facilities with which we have contracts for student clinical experiences.
Clinic Simulation Fee
This fee covers costs associated with Clinical Learning Resources Center to include specialized simulation technology, equipment, materials, and supplies related to the operating of the simulation center.
Professional Activity Fee
The Professional Activity Fee supports various professional activities for pharmacy students such as participation in clinical partnerships enhancing experiential education, financial resources to ensure these clinical experiences meet pharmacy education expectations, support of student travel to professional meetings/conferences, and other professional activities.
Professional Development Fee
One-third of the pharmacy curriculum is experiential education, which consists of the Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPE) and the Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (APPE). This fee supports clinical site payments for student rotations. In addition to clinical site payments, the Professional development Fee supports service learning activities and other professional development services and programs.
Environmental Service Fee
This fee supports distribution, maintenance and pickup of recycle bins and materials from each building located on the Texas A&M University-Kingsville campus. Only pharmacy students located at Kingsville are assessed this fee.
Career Services and Professional Services Fee
This fee will support efficient and effective support services for professional career development services. Various operational costs associated with the provision of professional career development services.
Advising Services Fee
This fee will provide advising support services for all graduate degree programs not provided by members of the faculty. This fee includes, but is not limited to Graduate Studies, Professional School Advising, and Admission Services related to student enrollment. Various operational costs associated with the delivery of services noted in programmatic justification.
This $70 per semester fee ($35 for a 5-week summer term and $70 for a 10-week summer semester) is assessed to provide unlimited fare-free access to all students to on-campus and off-campus services, and expanded service and revenue for a long-term bus replacement plan. In addition, revenue will pay for operating expenses and the enhancement of bus facilities on campus. Fee subject to change.
Locked and Variable Rate Tuition Plans
Beginning with the Academic Year 2018-2019, incoming undergraduate Texas resident students at Texas A&M University will be offered the choice between a variable rate tuition plan or a locked-rate (fixed) tuition plan allowing students and their parents to better plan and budget for college expenses. You will need to select the best option for you and your family prior to registration. Incoming Non-Resident Students will default to the Variable Rate Plan.
Locked rates are guaranteed for a period of time-based on college and/or major:
All majors in the College of Engineering: 4.5 years from the time freshmen first enter college after high school.
Landscape Architecture: 5 years from the time freshmen first enter college after high school.
All Other Majors: 4 years from the time freshmen first enter college after high school.
HSC: Health Science Center (HSC) programs are upper-division programs with separate budgeted rates of two-year time frames. Upon transfer/entrance to an HSC major, you will be reassigned to their current-year locked-rate cohort for two years, or your remaining time left if you are originally in a main-campus locked-rate cohort.
Once you have completed the length of time in your locked rate cohort you will automatically be moved to the current year Variable Rate Cohort Non-Resident Students: Because the State of Texas does not fund "non-resident" tuition, mandates issued by the state for the fixed-rate tuition plan do not apply to non-resident students. Therefore, non-resident students will default to the variable-rate plan.
Variable rate plan: Tuition and fees could increase each year, using the Higher Education Price Index.
Locked-rate (fixed) plan: Tuition and fees are locked into a per semester rate for 12 consecutive semesters, or 4 years, from the point of initial enrollment at a public or private institution.
Entering Freshman Texas Resident Students: Will choose either the variable rate or the locked-rate (fixed) associated with their first term of enrollment.
Entering Transfer or Readmit Texas Resident Students: Have three options to choose from
- Variable rate, which will vary each academic year
- Locked rate(fixed), based on their first term of enrollment in college after high school, which will expire at the end of 12 consecutive semesters, or 4 years from that first term of enrollment
- The current academic year’s tuition and fee rate which will be locked in for 12 consecutive semesters or 4 years
Students will enroll in 30 hours an academic year for 4 years allowing completion of most degree plans. Some majors such as engineering and architecture are offered 1-2 additional semesters at the locked rate.
Where do I select my tuition rate?
All incoming freshmen and admitted transfer and readmit applicants must select a rate prior to registration. Rate code selections can be made by logging in to the Howdy Portal at howdy.tamu.edu, selecting the My Finances Tab and following the instructions. The choice will be offered only once and cannot be changed in future semesters.
Tuition estimates can be found on the Student Business Services website at sbs.tamu.edu/.
Texas A&M University meets requirements of the Texas Education Code, Section 54.017 regarding fixed tuition for undergraduate students.
- Application Fees
- Cooperative Education Fee
- Field Trip Fees
- Greek Dues Fee
- Laboratory Fees
- Late Penalties
- Late Registration/Add Penalties
- Microfilming, Binding and Collating
- Musical Activities Performance Fee
- New Student Conference Fee
- ROTC Uniform Rental
- Diploma/Graduation Fee
- Health Center Fee
- Identification Card (Aggie Card)
- International Student Health Insurance
- International Student Services Fee
- International Student Post Enrollment Maintenance Fee
- Recreational Sports Fee
- Reinstatement Fee
- Sponsored International Students
- Supplementary Fee for Courses Attempted More than Twice
- Student Center Complex Fee
- The TEA Teacher Ed Prep Program Fee
Graduate: $50; Undergraduate: $75; International: $90
Cooperative Education Fee
A fee of $75 is charged to all participants of the Cooperative Education program.
Field Trip Fees
Field trip fees are assessed to cover the cost of providing trips and vary depending on the course taken and expected expenses.
Greek Dues Fee
This $25 due fee provides members of fraternities and sororities with a sustainable advising and programming model to create a membership experience that is congruent with both the university’s and the organizations’ mission, purpose and values.
The University is required to assess and collect a laboratory fee not to exceed $30 for each laboratory course to cover in general the cost of laboratory materials and supplies used by a student.
Students who fail to pay fees and installments when due are assessed a late payment fee for each payment or installment paid late.
Late Registration/Add Penalties
The Late Registration Charge is assessed to students who register on or after the first class day. A charge of $100 for registration between the 1st and 12th class day and $200 for registration after the 12th class day also applies to students who have not paid 100% of tuition and fees or submitted adequate Installment Plan payments by the semester census date. Registration after the 12th class day is by exception only and requires Dean's approval.
Students who add classes after the 12th class day that result in a net increase in hours enrolled are assessed a $50 late add fee.
Microfilming, Binding and Collating
Binding, collating, microfilming theses and dissertations–Masters: $110, Doctoral: $170
Musical Activities Performance Fee
The $100 Musical Activities Facility Performance Fee is a per semester fee that is charged to each participant in a Music Activities affiliated vocal or instrumental program and supports programming, performance, and operational costs. This charge is not Title IV eligible.
New Student Conference Fee
A non-refundable new student orientation fee of $225 is charged to all freshmen students and $153 to transfer students. An additional fee of $35 is required of all international students to cover additional costs associated with orientation programs.
ROTC Uniform Rental
Qualifying cadets enrolled in Army, Air Force or Naval ROTC will be reimbursed the cost of basic cadet uniforms. Cadets who are not enrolled in ROTC (Drills and Ceremonies Cadets) are required to pay for use of uniforms.
A non-refundable fee per degree sought is assessed the semester a student applies for graduation. This fee is payable each time a student applies for graduation. A late fee of $50, in addition to the diploma/graduation fee, may be charged to those who apply for graduation after the published deadline.
Health Center Fee
This $75.00 per semester fee ($25 for a 5-week summer term and $75.00 for a 10-week summer term) is required of all students for the purpose of operating, maintaining and equipping the University Health Center and entitles the student to its services. These services do not include surgical operations or charges for consultations with outside physicians.
Identification Card (Aggie Card)
Every student is required to have a student ID card. ID cards are permanent and students are responsible for maintaining a working ID throughout their career at the University. The Aggie Card is used for residence hall access, registration, fee collection, financial aid disbursement, dining halls, athletic event and recreational sports admittance and library privileges. Replacement ID cards are $12. Students who lose their IDs can report the loss immediately and deactivate their card online at or by contacting:
Student Business Services
Aggie Card Office, General Services Complex
8 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday through Friday
International Student Health Insurance
The Texas A&M University System requires all international students entering the U.S. on a F-1 or J-1 student visa to be covered under the Texas A&M University System Student Health Insurance Plan (SSHIP) or have equivalent insurance coverage that meets the waiver criteria. The System Student Health Insurance Regulation is located at http://policies.tamus.edu/26-99-01.pdf.
For more information regarding the health insurance and waiver processes, please visit http://iss.tamu.edu.
International Student Orientation Fee
This $35 fee is charged to cover the cost of resources for newly admitted or returning international students.
International Student Services Fee
This $85 fee is required of all students who are not U.S. Citizens or Lawful Permanent Residents to offset the cost of specialized services provided to these students from International Student Services, Center for Teaching Excellence - English Language Proficiency Program, and the Writing Center.
International Student Post Enrollment Maintenance Fee
This three-tiered fee will be required of F-1 students who are applying for Post-Completion Optional Practical Training (OPT) and the 24-month STEM Extension of OPT as well as J-1 students who are applying for Academic Training that will occur post-completion of studies. Within the applicable requests, the student will be required to upload evidence that they have paid the required fee. This fee will only apply to new or extended authorization requests for Post-Completion OPT, STEM OPT, and Post-Completion Academic Training. Additional information about this fee can be found at https://iss.tamu.edu/Current-Students/Post-Enrollment-Maintenance-Fee.
Recreational Sports Fee
The Recreational Sports fee is assessed to all students attending the University for use of the Student Recreation Center, Polo Road Rec Center, and all other Recreational Sports facilities. The fee for all graduate students (both new and returning) and all undergraduate students whose first enrollment to the university was during the fall 2020 semester or any semester after the fall 2020 semester will be $145 per semester ($72.50 for a 5-week summer term and $145 for a 10-week summer semester).
Returning undergraduate students, on the university's fixed rate tuition plan, whose initial enrollment to the university was prior to the fall 2020 semester will continue to pay $106 per semester ($53 for a 5-week summer term and $106 for a 10-week summer semester) for the duration of their fixed rate tuition agreement.
Students who fail to pay all fees by the last day of the semester will be administratively withdrawn from the University and charged a $50 reinstatement fee.
Sponsored International Students
International Student Services (ISS) provides specialized administrative services, advising, and other program management related to the specific requirements for sponsored students. ISS serves as a liaison with academic departments, the Texas A&M University campus, sponsored students and their sponsors.
Third Party Billing and invoices for sponsored students are handled by Student Business Services (SBS). http://sbs.tamu.edu/accounts-billing/for-sponsors-and-sponsored-students/
An administrative fee not to exceed $500 per semester or summer session (all or part thereof) will be required to support international sponsored students whose programs are coordinated through International Student Services, unless these fees are waived as part of negotiated contractual agreements.
Certain courses that are attempted by a student more than twice at a public institution of higher education in Texas may not be reported for state funding. As a result, the institution must either pass the non-funded portion to all students, or charge a supplementary fee to the student who is repeating the course. Texas A&M has chosen to assess a supplementary fee to those students attempting a course more than twice.
A student attempting certain courses more than twice at Texas A&M will be subject to a supplementary fee of $125 per semester credit hour ($375 for a 3 hour course) for the repeated course, in addition to tuition and required fees associated with the course.
Students will be notified at the time they register for a course that it has been taken twice at Texas A&M and is subject to the supplementary fee.
Student Center Complex Fee
This $100 fee ($50 for a 5-week summer term and $100 for a 10-week summer semester) is required of all students for operating, maintaining, improving and equipping the Student Center Complex.
The TEA Teacher Ed Prep Program Fee
The TEA Teacher Ed Prep Program Fee is mandated by the Texas Education Agency for all candidates seeking educator certification in the State of Texas TAC 229.9. This fee is assessed based on information provided by the School of Education and Human Development.
Sports Pass are available for purchase. For more information, please visit https://www.12thmanfoundation.com/tickets/student-tickets/index.html.
Installment Payment Option
Students who choose to pay using the installment plan pay an installment payment service charge per semester (excluding the Summer term.) This charge is non-refundable. You may add the installment plan by selecting the installment option through the online registration system at https://howdy.tamu.edu.
MSC OPAS Tickets
Special Discounted Student OPAS tickets are available through the MSC Box office. For more information, please contact MSC OPAS at (979) 845-1661 or visit their website.
The cost is $81.19 including shipping and sales tax.
Students have the opportunity to select a Meal Plan that fits their individual needs. Meal Plans are designed to be flexible for an array of lifestyles and appetites. Smaller plans are available for Non-Corps Upperclassmen and Off Campus students.
On-Campus “New First Time Freshmen” (regardless of the number of college credit hours) are required to have a minimum Block Meal Plan for the full academic year (or remainder of the year for those that apply for housing after the beginning of the Fall semester.) White Creek Apartment Freshmen are required to have a minimum Block Plan or the White Creek Apartment Dining Dollar Plan.
All Corps of Cadets members are required to have a minimum Block Meal Plan as designated by the Office of the Commandant in order to meet requirements of mandatory March-In Meals with the Corps. March-In Meals are automatically deducted at the beginning of each semester from meal plans.
Non-Corps Upperclassmen and Off-Campus students are not required to purchase a Meal Plan, but the option is available to them to aid in budgeting and provide dining discounts.
To learn about Meal Plan requirements/options, visit dining.tamu.edu.
There are two types of Meal Plans: Block Plans (include Meal Swipes and Dining Dollars) and Dining Dollar Only Plans.
Meal Swipes: used at the 3 all-you-care-to-eat Dining Halls on campus. One “Swipe” at the front register grants access to the entire buffet! Meal Swipes can also be converted into a “Retail Swipe” once per day. Retail Swipes allow students to get whatever they like off of the menu at select retail locations (such as Chick-fil-A) for up to $7.50. This adds flexibility and variety, however for the best value, we encourage students to use a majority of their Meal Swipes at the dining halls.
Dining Dollars: A dollar-for-dollar currency located on the Aggie ID and accepted at all dining locations on campus, including the Aggie Express convenience stores, Starbucks, and Food Trucks. Dining Dollars are not accepted at the Barnes and Noble Café in the MSC. Dining Dollars are only accepted on campus, assuring parents/guardians that this money is spent only on food, beverages, and other important supplies (such as toiletries, scantrons, Advil, etc.) Dining Dollars can not be overdrawn and can be refilled at any time.
Each purchase is automatically deducted from the account and can be tracked at mealplans.tamu.edu. All Meal Swipes expire at the end of every semester. Dining Dollars roll over from the Fall to the Spring Semester with the purchase of a Spring Meal Plan. Dining Dollar Only Plans will automatically roll over to the Spring semester without the purchase of a new plan. All Meal Swipes and Dining Dollars expire at the end of the Spring semester and do not roll over to the Summer or Fall. We recommend students select a plan that best fits their dining habits. Downgrade/Upgrade deadlines can be found at our website. Dining Dollars can be added in increments of $25 at any time.
All Dining Plans are loaded onto the Student ID to make access and use easy. Fees for the selected Meal Plan will be added to the student’s Texas A&M University student fee, and are separate from housing fees. Any plan purchases or additions made after the ninth week of class cannot be charged to the student’s account and must be paid via credit card. For questions about billing, email email@example.com.
Vehicles parked on the Texas A&M University campus are required to have a valid parking assignment (virtual permit) or pay by the hour to park in designated visitor areas. Costs of virtual permits are prorated and subject to change.
For more information or to purchase parking, visit transport.tamu.edu/permitreg.
|Night Permit (only valid 5 p.m. - 6 a.m.)||$125|
|Night+ (includes garage access to UCG, CCG, SBG or PRG 5 p.m. - 6 a.m. Garage assignments will be determined at the time of purchase)||$218|
|Garage Non-Reserved Space (Polo Rd. Garage is $646)||$546|
|Motorcycle Permit - including mopeds and scooters||$130|
Residence Hall and White Creek Apartment Rates
All students living in residence halls and White Creek Apartments are required to pay room/apartment rent. Rooms are furnished with beds, mattresses, desks, chairs and dressers. Students are expected to furnish their own pillows, blankets and linens. Room/apartment rates include utilities, high-speed internet, cable tv, and electricity. Rates are for the semester and are subject to change.
For more information, please see Residence Life.
Application Fee for Pay by Semester Properties: Residence Halls and White Creek Apartments
There is a $75 non-refundable application fee that is required to complete the housing application and sign a contract for the residence halls and university apartments. Students have until May 1st to cancel their housing for the Fall term, or December 1st for the Spring term. Any cancellation after that date is considered a late cancellation and cancellation penalties apply. Freshmen classified as U1 with less than 30 hours will be required to have a dining plan if they live on campus.
Scholarships, Grants and Loans
All financial aid or loans must be accepted and requirements completed before it can be applied toward a student’s account.
Texas A&M utilizes online statements and electronic payments in its efforts to provide timely financial information to students and to control costs. Student account payment options include:
Students can view their account and make online payments using E-Checks, American Express, Discover Card, MasterCard or Visa by selecting “Pay Bill/Manage Account” on the My Finances tab in the Howdy portal. Payments made with credit cards will incur a convenience fee charged at the time of payment. Payments made with credit cards will incur a 2.25% convenience fee minimum charge of $3.00. Additional forms of payment accepted include personal checks, cashier’s checks, wire transfers and Pin Debit. (Please Note: Once online payment transaction has occurred, the Convenience Fee is non-refundable).
- Checks – Students may still use paper checks for payments. The University reserves the right to utilize check conversion technology to convert paper checks into electronic format.
- Cashier's checks
- Money orders
- Cash is not accepted.
- All bank wire transfers are accepted using our partner, Flywire. Texas A&M University does not accept direct wire transfers and will not provide our banking information.
Any payment that is rejected for payment by the paying bank, credit card company or other financial institution is subject to returned item charges of $30 or more. Rejected payments may also result in cancellation of the student’s registration and additional late registration penalties if the student is required to re-register on or after the first day of classes.
Tuition, required fees, room, board and parking are payable in full, or in installments. A service charge, to cover the cost of handling, will be assessed to each student who chooses to use the installment plan each semester. Students may pay their account in full any time during a semester; however, the service fee will not be refunded once a payment is made under the installment plan or after the first installment due date. See the Student Business Services website for information on installment plans.
A deposit of $100 is required of every student to ensure the institution against losses, damages, and breakage for which the student is responsible, or to be used to offset in part amounts owed by the student to the institution. General deposits are returned to students, less any such amounts owed to the institution, within a reasonable period after the date of the student's withdrawal or graduation from the institution, not to exceed 180 days. The deposit retention period provides the University sufficient time to identify all amounts owed and to determine if the student intends to enroll in the semester or summer session immediately following the student's withdrawal or graduation or, if the student withdraws or graduates in the spring semester, in the next fall semester. If a student leaves the University without graduating or officially withdrawing, they must submit a written request to Student Business Services to receive a refund of their deposit. Deposits for students that do not graduate, withdraw or otherwise request a refund remain on file for four years. Those deposits are forfeited to the University’s General Deposit Scholarship Fund, after deducting any amounts owed the University.
Late Payment Penalty
There are severe penalties for failure to pay student account balances and installments by their specified due dates. If a payment is delinquent when a semester ends, the student will be blocked and may not receive credit for academic work performed. Students will not be readmitted to the University until all past due balances, including late charges, are paid. A late fee of $25 for A&M students and $50 for HSC students will be assessed for each payment not received on or before it is due. If a student is removed from the rolls of the University or is withdrawn for failure to pay amounts owed the University, a reinstatement fee of $50 for A&M students and $150 for HSC students will be assessed in addition to any other late fees or penalties already incurred and must be paid before the student will be reinstated. Current due dates can be found online at the website.
Late Registration Fees
Students who register on or after the first day of classes are assessed a late registration fee of $100 for A&M students and $200 for HSC students. Students who register after the official census date (12th class day for fall or spring and 4th class day for summer) are assessed a late registration fee of $200 for A&M students and $250 for HSC students. Students who add classes after the official census date are assessed a late add fee of $50 for A&M students and $100 for HSC students. Note: Penalties, late registration and late add fees also apply to students who are required to re-enroll because their registrations were canceled for nonpayment. Registrations are subject to cancellation and/or financial penalties if sufficient payment is not received before 5:00 p.m. on the semester due date.
Use of Collection Agencies and Credit Bureau
If amounts become past due, the University reserves the right to report the account to the Credit Bureau. This will also initiate internal collection efforts and could cause the University to employ an outside collection agency to recover the debt. If any collection efforts must take place, the student will be required to reimburse the University for the fees of any collection agency which may be based on a percentage at a maximum of 30% of the debt. All costs and expenses, including reasonable attorney's fees the University, incur in such collection efforts.
Once students have registered for classes, they must select one course of action from the following to remain in good standing with the University:
- pay all amounts due by the specified due date;
- use the online registration to drop all classes prior to the first day of classes; or
- initiate the withdrawal process online in Howdy to begin the process to withdraw from the University after the first day of classes.
Following this procedure is especially important for students who have been awarded scholarships or financial aid since the aid may automatically pay tuition and fees and cause the registration to be held even though the student has decided not to attend. Failure to request cancellation of an unwanted registration may result in grades of F or I in all courses for the semester. The student will be required to reimburse the University for scholarships and other financial aid applied to his or her account and will be held responsible for paying all fees for the semester, regardless of whether he or she attended classes.
The University reserves the right to cancel registrations not paid by their due date, or the official census date for a semester or summer term, to comply with state laws requiring payment of tuition and fees, to free the classroom spaces for other students, and to ensure the most efficient use of university resources.
- Fee Adjustments for Courses Dropped
- Adjustments for Withdrawal–Tuition and Fees
- Athletic Refunds
- Reductions in Rates for Late Entry to the University
- Refund Delivery
- Yearbook Refunds
- Dining Plan Refunds and Add/Change/Drop Policies
- Residence Hall and White Creek Apartment Cancellation Policy and Refunds
- Withdrawal from the University
- Allocating Returned Title IV (Federal Aid)
Fee Adjustments for Courses Dropped
A student may drop individual courses during the first five days of a fall or spring semester (first four days of a summer term). Students also may drop individual classes with special permission of the dean between the 6th and 12th class days. Full refunds will be given for the individually dropped courses during these periods provided the student remains enrolled in at least one class and has not withdrawn from the university. Refunds will not be issued for classes dropped after the 12th class day. Any credit balance on a student account as a result of dropping courses will not be refunded until after the fifth class day. As of the first day of the semester, students may not drop all of their courses through the drop/add process, but instead must begin the official withdrawal process online through Howdy (see Withdrawal from the University below for additional information regarding the withdrawal process). A student may add courses during the first five days of a fall or spring semester.
Adjustments for Withdrawal–Tuition and Fees
Tuition and fee adjustments shall be made to students officially withdrawing from the University for charges listed below according to the following refund schedule: Tuition and Required Fees, Residence Hall Rent, and Meal Plans.
Fall and Spring Semester and 10-Week Summer Semester
|By 5 p.m. on the last business day before the first day of class||100%|
|During the first five class days||80%|
|During the second five class days||70%|
|During the third five class days||50%|
|During the fourth five class days||25%|
|After the fourth five class days||None|
Summer Term of More Than 5 Weeks But Less Than 10 Weeks
|By 5 p.m. on the last business day before the first day of class||100%|
|During the first, second or third class day||80%|
|During the fourth, fifth or sixth class day||50%|
|Seventh day of class and thereafter||None|
Refunds are not allowed for individual games or games missed. A prorated refund is permitted until the option is used to pick up a ticket for any one game. Once a ticket option has been used, prorated refunds will be given only in the event of withdrawal from the University. For information on refunds, contact the Athletic Business Office at (979) 846-8892.
Reductions in Rates for Late Entry to the University
No reduction will be made in the charge of room rent and board in case of entrance within 10 days after the opening of a semester or summer term, nor will a refund be made in case of withdrawal during the last 10 days of a semester or summer term, or the last days for which payment is made.
Texas A&M and Heartland ECSI have joined forces to deliver financial aid and other refunds to students faster through the University’s refund delivery process. You will receive information from Heartland ECSI and the University at your new student conference and in your official University email account, which will explain the process for signing up for direct deposit of refunds.
Yearbook charges are refundable in full during the semester in which payment is made. Thereafter, no refunds will be made on orders canceled in subsequent semesters. Yearbooks must be picked up during the academic year in which they are published. Students who will not be on campus when the yearbooks are published must pay a mailing and handling fee. Yearbooks will not be held, nor will they be mailed, without payment of the mailing and handling fee. Refunds will not be made on books not picked up within one semester of the publication date. Refunds will not be made before 21 days from the date of payment. Refund policies contained herein reflect policies in effect at the time of publication and are subject to change.
Dining Plan Refunds and Add/Change/Drop Policies
Texas A&M University Dining’s dining plans and options listed are based on information available at time of printing and are subject to change. University Dining follows the University’s refund schedule for Tuition and Fee Adjustments. Refunds are given on the percentage basis listed for students dropping fee options or officially withdrawing from the University.
Students may purchase a dining plan, change to a larger plan or add on to a plan during registration for classes through University Dining. Dining Plans and additions to the plans may be charged to the student account. Changes from a higher dining plan to a smaller dining plan or requests to cancel/drop are permitted until a date designated on dining.tamu.edu. The appropriate fee is to be paid to the Office of Student Business Services.
Dining plans are valid for one semester starting with the first day of campus move-in (as designated by the Department of Residence Life) and end after the last final exam day. Check with Dining for posted dates for dining plan access. Location hours may vary during class breaks and meal availability may exclude official University holidays.
Following University policy, no one is authorized to use or borrow a student’s identification card (Aggie Card); therefore, dining plans are not transferable between students. The Aggie Card must be presented to Dining cashiers for dining plan participation. If an Aggie Card becomes lost, report it immediately by calling (979) 845-4661 or go to http://myaggiecard.tamu.edu to deactivate the card.
For questions and assistance, please email firstname.lastname@example.org (include name, UIN and instructions if dining plan related) or contact our office at (979) 845-0152. Additional information on University Dining and dining plans can be found on our website or in this catalog under Campus Dining.
Residence Hall and White Creek Apartment Cancellation Policy and Refunds
Any cancellation after May 1st for the Fall (regardless of when the student applies) is subject to the following cancellations penalties: 1) Prior to May 1st - no penalty, 2) May 2nd to May 30th - $500, 3) June 1st to August 14th - $1000, 4) August 15th (or after move) - 100% of Fall semester rent and 5) Students who cancel their housing assignment after the student has moved in for the Fall is subject to 100% of the Spring semester rent.
Exceptions to the housing charge/refund schedule may be granted for students who graduate at the end of the Fall semester, enlist in the Armed Forces of the United States, are accepted into one of the Service Academies, or participate in a cooperative education/internship, student teaching (not in the local area), or a student abroad program for the Spring semester if written notification and verification of the aforementioned condition is received in the Housing Assignments Office, Corps Housing Office, or University Apartments Office (as applicable) by November 15th. Exceptions may also be made for students who are academically restricted from re-enrollment or who become medically unable to return for the Spring (or summer if a 12 month contract) semester if written notification is received prior to the beginning of classes for the Spring (or Summer if a 12 month contract).
Once the University has accepted payment for tuition and fees, a student is considered officially enrolled unless otherwise restricted from enrolling. Stopping payment on a check for fees or allowing the check to be returned unpaid by the bank for any reason does not constitute official withdrawal.
Before classes begin, you may go online to Howdy and drop your courses and options for the semester.
After classes begin, you must go through the official withdrawal process in order to cancel your registration for the semester. In Howdy, go to the Student Withdrawal channel on the My Record tab to begin the online withdrawal process. Failure to complete the withdrawal process will result in forfeiture of any tuition and fee adjustments, and course work may be recorded as incomplete or failed.
Failure to follow procedures for withdrawing from the University may result in financial penalties and delays with future enrollment in the University. Once a student registers, they are responsible for the total fees assessed regardless of whether the installment option is used. Refund percentages are applied to total fees assessed and not the amount paid. This means that students who withdraw before paying all installments may, in the event of withdrawal, still owe the University.
International students must visit with an advisor in International Student Services before withdrawing to determine if doing so will affect visa status.
Student athletes should visit with an academic advisor in Athletics before initiating the withdrawal process.
Recipients of financial assistance should visit with an Enrollment Services Advisor before withdrawing. Students receiving funds awarded by Scholarships & Financial Aid should be aware of policies regarding withdrawal from the University, which may be reviewed on our Maintaining Eligibility website. Federal regulations require a return calculation for all students who receive Title IV student assistance at a post-secondary institution of higher education and withdraw during a payment period (semester). Students withdrawing prior to the end of a payment period may be required to return disbursed funds not earned.
The length of time during which it must be determined whether a return calculation is needed is up to 60 percent of the payment period. Additionally, students who do not successfully complete courses for the semester may be considered unofficially withdrawn and may be subject to a return calculation based on their last date of academic engagement. This type of activity includes, but is not limited to, submitting an academic assignment or taking an exam. All disbursed funds may be returned if attendance cannot be documented.
Eligibility for state and institutional funds may also be impacted by withdrawing from the University. Drops and withdrawals are considered unsuccessfully completed coursework when determining Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) and will impact completion rate. For more information, please visit our Maintaining Eligibility website.
Allocating Returned Title IV (Federal Aid)
Funds that are returned to the federal government due to student withdrawal are used to reduce the outstanding balances in individual federal programs.
Financial aid returned (by the University and/or the student or parent) must be allocated in the following order:
- Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan
- Subsidized Federal Direct Loan
- Direct Graduate PLUS (Student) Loan
- Federal Direct PLUS (Parent) Loan
- Federal Pell Grant
- Iraq and Afghanistan Service Grant
- Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
- TEACH Grant
- Other state or institutional financial aid programs
State and institutional aid awards will be calculated using the same percentage proration used by Student Business Services to determine the amount of tuition and fees to be charged to a withdrawn student.
Unclaimed Title IV Refunds
According to federal law, the university is required to return Title IV funds that have not been claimed (i.e., refund check that has not been cashed) within 240 days of issue. These funds will be returned to the appropriate federal financial aid program.
Certain undergraduate students who attempt no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which they were graduated may be entitled to a $1,000 tuition rebate after graduation. Several conditions apply and students must meet all of the specified criteria. If you wish to try and qualify for this program, please see the Office of the Registrar website for a complete set of student and institutional responsibilities and other criteria.