School of Public Health

Administrative Officers

Dean - Shawn Gibbs, PhD, MBA, CIH

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs - Tamika Gilreath, PhD

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs - Rhonda Rahn, PhD

Senior Associate Dean for Research - Tiffany A. Radcliff, PhD

Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Student Services - Donald J. Curtis, Jr., PhD

Assistant Dean for Business Affairs - Stephen Bockelmann

Assistant Dean for Graduate Student Services - Erin Schneider, MPH

Assistant Dean for Accountability and Strategic Initiatives - Eric Wilson, PhD

General Statement

Founded in 1998 as the first public health school in the nation with a focus on rural and underserved communities, the School of Public Health developed into a nationally ranked, fully accredited public health academic, research, and service program. 

Offering classes at the College Station campus as well as other Texas locations through distance education, the school provides a bachelors program and graduate level programs including two master's degrees  (Master of Public Health and Master of Health Administration) in several public health disciplines: epidemiology, biostatistics, environmental health, occupational safety and health, health administration, policy and management, and health promotion and community health sciences.  The school also offers a Doctor of Public Health with concentrations in epidemiology, environmental health, and health promotion and community health sciences, and a Doctor of Philosophy in health services research.  

The school provides an excellent forum for tomorrow’s public health leaders to engage in a learning environment that builds on a wide array of research strengths and scholarly inquiry of a stellar faculty (seven of whom have received the prestigious designations of Regents Professors and one Distinguished Professor). Further, the research and practice links established by the faculty provide an extensive diversity of opportunities for students to work closely with professionals in applied public health settings.

Providing a forum for future public health leaders, the school builds an array of research strengths and practice skills for rural and urban settings.


The School of Public Health is the first of its kind in the nation. The Texas Legislature established the school in 1995 as part of a rural health initiative to better address rural health needs in the state. After receiving degree-granting authority for the Master of Public Health degree in April 1998 from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the School of Rural Public Health welcomed its inaugural class in September 1998.

In 2014, the School of Public Health welcomed its first students into the brand-new Bachelor of Science in Public Health program, the first program of its kind in the state affiliated with a fully accredited School of Public Health.  With a mission to serve the public health needs of the entire state, the undergraduate program is based on a philosophy of health promotion and disease prevention to improve the quality of life of individuals, families, and communities in the State of Texas and beyond.  Graduates of the BSPH program will be able to assess factors influencing health in populations as well as plan, design, implement and successfully manage effective healthcare programs and interventions as well as be well-positioned for careers in medicine, nursing and other allied health professions.

School of Public Health - Undergraduate Office
147 Reynolds Medical Sciences Building
College Station, TX 77843
(979) 436-9463